Daily vegan 24: Chocolate galore

It’s amazing how many people think that vegans can’t eat chocolate, so here is a quick rundown of what you can and cannot eat.

Obviously Dairy Milk is out.

Some dark chocolate bars do contain butterfat, whey or lecithin, but plenty do not. Soya lecithin as an ingredient is fine.

It’s also important to reiterate that if the ingredients appear to be vegan, but it says ‘may contain traces of milk’ elsewhere on the wrapper, this simply means that the item was made on a production line where dairy products are also processed. So there is a slight risk of cross-contamination from the equipment, but otherwise there is no problem.

As well as ‘traditional’ dark chocolate, specialist companies are now marketing a lighter, ‘milk’ variety that is suitable for vegans. Look out for OrganicaVego, and Moo-Free, and many supermarkets stock their own ‘free from’ range. You can even get vegan white chocolate now.

Unfortunately, you’ll be hard pressed to find vegan-friendly boxes of chocolates in high street shops, though the delicious Booja Boojarange is beginning to get a wider distribution.

You can, of course, buy a huge range of vegan chocolate from the Animal Aid Online Shop including most of the above mentioned. We also sell a wide range of delicious chocolate boxes. There’s something for all tastes, from ‘Mars‘ and ‘Snickers‘-style bars to truffles and creams.

Drinking chocolate can sometimes be a problem. Quite a few of the most common versions do include dairy products, often whey or milk powder. Fortunately, there are plenty that don’t. Cadbury’s Original drinking chocolate is vegan (though they have other chocolate drinks that are not) and the Co-op’s own label is also vegan (though not labelled as such, once again because of the cross-contamination risk from production lines). Both are also fairtrade. Just make them with a dairy-free milk of your choice.