Daily vegan 8: Junk food veganism

A few unhealthy options!

Eating a wide range of healthy plant-based foods will ensure you have a healthy diet, but what do you do if you just fancy a treat now and then – a biscuit to dunk in your tea or a slice of cake, for example. OK, so it might be better for us to choose a handful of nuts and dried fruit to keep you going, but sometimes you just want to indulge, right?

Well, being a vegan doesn’t mean you’re completely excluded from the sweet treats produced by the food industry.

Quite a lot of everyday biscuits are vegan – some digestives, rich tea, plain Hobnobs, bourbons and ginger nuts, for instance, as well as chocolate chip Hobnobs and Oreos. You just have to learn to look carefully at labels; in particular, to ensure that products are free from whey, a milk-by product added to so many convenience foods.

My own occasional guilty, sweet junk food pleasure is Co-op jam doughnuts, which (amazingly) are suitable for vegans. (Most other doughnuts seem to contain whey.)  Five guaranteed artery-clogging teeth-rotters for 79p. Bliss!

There are very few vegan cakes for sale on the high street but Mr Kipling apple and blackberry pies are vegan (although, bizarrely, the apple ones are not), as are most apple strudels (found in the freezer section of supermarkets) and some of the ‘Basics’ ranges of apple pies, too.

Yep, Twiglets are vegan too.

On the savoury front, Kettle Chips and Pringles label which of their flavours are vegan on the packet (these include smokey bacon and paprika). Ready salted crisps of all kinds are vegan, as are many other flavours and types, including Pom Bears and Tesco’s bacon rashers. Tuck into Twiglets and salted pretzels with a clear conscience, and just read the labels to check other salted snacks. In particular, look out for whey, which comes from milk.